While Uber and Lyft are available all over Florida, the services are most popular in cities like Miami, Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville, and Tallahassee. No matter where you’re grabbing a ride from, you expect to arrive at your destination in a timely and safe manner. In the event that doesn’t happen, the Florida rideshare accident lawyers from the Rideshare Law Group can help.
Car accidents are traumatic events, but it’s something you can overcome when supported by the right team. While your doctor and other medical providers will ensure you receive access to the care you need to heal physically, our attorneys are prepared to provide you with guidance on obtaining the compensation you need to get your life back in order.
How to Become a Rideshare Driver in Florida
Rideshare driver eligibility can change based on where you live. If a person is looking to work for Uber or Lyft, or both, there are certain requirements they have to meet in Florida. Once a person has proven they meet the requirements, they can get set up with the app and start transporting passengers.
To be an Uber driver in Florida, a person has to meet the minimum age to drive in their city, have at least one year of licensed driving experience in the United States, have a valid U.S. driver’s license, and use an eligible vehicle. Requirements can vary by area. For example, Uber vehicles in Orlando have to be at least 15 years old or newer, have four doors, be in good condition with no cosmetic damage, and have no commercial branding.
In addition to meeting the minimum personal and vehicle requirements, potential Uber drivers also have to provide the required documentation and complete an online screening, which will review a person’s driving record and criminal history.
To be a Lyft driver in Florida, a person has to have a valid driver’s license, be at least 25 years old, pass a driver screening that reviews driving history and a criminal background check, and have access to a smartphone to download and run the Lyft Driver app.
As far as vehicle requirements go, different regions in the state have different requirements. For example, in Orlando, the vehicles have to be from 2003 or newer, have four doors, have five to eight seats, have a valid license plate, and not be on the list of ineligible subcompact vehicles. Lyft drivers also have the option of renting a car through Express Drive, which includes standard insurance.
Your Rights as an Uber or Lyft Passenger
As an Uber or Lyft passenger, you are entitled to certain rights. In the event one or more of those rights is violated, you can hold the negligent party accountable. As a passenger, you have:
- The right to a safe driver. Not all drivers practice safe habits behind the wheel. However, your rideshare driver is supposed to abide by the rules of the road and get you to your destination safely. This means you have the right to a sober, alert, and informed driver.
- The right to a safe vehicle. Uber and Lyft require their drivers to maintain the condition of their cars. In the event you believe the vehicle you’re in is unsafe to ride in, you can terminate the ride. If an accident happens because of a failure to maintain the car, you can take action.
- The Right to report an issue. Both Uber and Lyft have reporting systems. Not only can you report inappropriate behavior and poor driving, but you can inform either company of any aspect of the ride that made you uncomfortable or resulted in harm. If you pursue legal action against the driver or company, your initial report can be used as evidence in your favor.
No matter what, a passenger’s safety should always come first. If you do not arrive at your destination because of an accident and you’re injured, you have the right to take legal action. Doing so can be challenging, especially if you’re going up against Uber or Lyft, as opposed to the driver. Either way, a Florida attorney can help.
Determining Responsibility After a Rideshare Accident
Determining who to hold accountable for your rideshare crash can be confusing. How, when, and where your accident happened can all play a role. If, for example, your driver was in the middle of transporting you to your destination, it’s possible Uber could be held accountable. However, if they were in between fares when they struck your vehicle, it’s likely the driver’s insurance policy will kick in. There’s also the possibility another driver could be at fault for what happened.
To determine liability, it’s essential to work with experienced legal representatives. When you seek guidance from a lawyer, they’ll investigate the accident, reconstruct what happened, and collect the evidence needed to prove fault on behalf of the negligent party.
In the event proving liability is particularly challenging, your lawyer can call on accident specialists to determine what happened. They will collect their own information, in addition to what your lawyer has gathered, in order to create a clear cut picture of what you went through and why.
Seek Legal Help From the Rideshare Law Group
An auto accident can completely upend your life. When you weren’t at fault for what happened, you may not know where to turn. Fortunately, the Florida rideshare accident lawyers from the Rideshare Law Group can help.
Our attorneys have extensive experience representing crash victims, and we’re prepared to take your case on next. While we may be able to resolve your claim through negotiations, there is a chance we could need to take your case to court to get you the compensation you deserve.
No matter your injuries or losses, you deserve the chance to recover from your Uber or Lyft accident as fully as possible. To learn more about filing a claim, contact us today.