Whether you’re responsibly planning for a night out or just need to get across the city and aren’t looking to battle the traffic yourself, you may consider using a rideshare service. In the event you get into an accident during the course of that ride, it’s important to understand your legal rights and options. That’s where the Rideshare Law Group comes in. Our New Jersey rideshare accident lawyers can help.
Rideshare Services in New Jersey
While Uber and Lyft are the two most popular rideshare services used in New Jersey and across the rest of the country, there are a number of other companies located throughout the state. Those companies include Carmel, Jayride, and SuperShuttle. Those platforms operate in a similar manner to Uber and Lyft, requiring customers to download and use their apps to order a ride.
If you live in one of the following cities, you’ll have easy access to rideshare services.
- Atlantic City
- Cherry Hill
- Jersey City
If you live in another city, it’s possible other rideshare services are available. The easiest way to find out is to type your zip code into Uber or Lyft to determine what options you have.
Insurance Requirements for Uber and Lyft Drivers
In the event of an accident with a rideshare driver where you’re the victim, you’ll likely be eligible for compensation under one of two insurance policies—the driver’s or the company’s. It’s important to understand the difference between the policies, as what’s available to you could change.
In New Jersey, auto insurance is mandatory. Under the Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act, all drivers are required to at least purchase a basic policy. A basic policy comes with $5,000 per accident for property damage liability and $15,000 per person, per accident for personal injury protection. Bodily injury liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are available, but they are not legally required. In the event the driver is deemed responsible for your crash and they were not transporting you at the time of the event, your injuries will be covered by their policy.
Uber and Lyft have similar insurance policies that are active at similar times. To receive compensation through one of the rideshare company’s insurance policies, you have to be an active passenger at the time of the accident or the victim of an accident where the rideshare driver was transporting a passenger. Both companies have $1 million policies for liability coverage and $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Your Rights As a Rideshare Accident Victim
Your rights as a rideshare victim and the monetary award you can seek are often dependent upon the circumstances of the crash and your status. This can be confusing to determine on your own, which is why it’s beneficial to work with a rideshare attorney from New Jersey. If you were involved in a wreck, you were likely either a rideshare passenger, a pedestrian, or a driver. Below, we’ll take a look at each scenario to give you an idea of what you could be entitled to.
What If You’re a Passenger?
As a passenger of an Uber or Lyft, you are likely covered by the company’s insurance policy. However, the company could try to get the driver’s insurance policy to kick in first, with the $1 million policy picking up anything that’s left. In the event the rideshare company tries to get out of paying you, your lawyer can take the necessary actions to hold them accountable and ensure you receive the funds you need to recover.
What If You’re a Pedestrian?
Pedestrian accidents are incredibly dangerous and have the potential to result in catastrophic or fatal injuries. In the event you were struck by a Lyft or Uber while walking, you’ll need to determine which period the driver was in at the time of the collision. If they were on the rideshare app with no passenger, the driver’s policy will need to cover your losses. If they were en route to pick up a passenger or driving with a passenger, it’s likely the rideshare company’s policy will need to cover your losses.
What If You’re a Driver?
With all car accident claims, the person filing the claim needs to be able to prove liability and damages. Depending on the situation, the rideshare driver or company could be at fault. In order to determine which party is responsible for your accident, your attorney will conduct a thorough investigation and collect evidence that proves you were wronged. When it comes to proving damages, your lawyer will calculate what you’re fairly owed by taking your medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering into consideration—among other losses.
In all three situations above, it’s likely the rideshare company will try to have you settle the matter behind closed doors. While negotiations are how the majority of personal injury claims end, it does not mean that you cannot pursue additional action if the settlement offer is low or unreasonable. If you choose to take additional action, our attorneys will help you pursue a lawsuit within a timely manner and work to achieve a favorable verdict from a judge or jury.
Get in Touch With the Rideshare Law Group
At the Rideshare Law Group, our New Jersey rideshare accident lawyers understand how challenging it can be to recover from a crash that wasn’t your fault. We’re here to provide you with quality legal representation, so you’re fully aware of your rights and obligations after the wreck.
If you’d like to get started on a claim or want more information on how the process works, simply schedule a free consultation with our firm. We’ll review your situation, explain your options, and help you pursue a claim if that’s the route you choose. Contact us today.