Companies like Uber and Lyft provide jobs, as well as a service many people utilize. People call on rideshare drivers to get to work, run errands, and have a safe night out. Rideshare services in West Virginia can be found in the following cities:
Most rideshare trips end with the passenger arriving at their destination, but accidents are possible. If you’ve been involved in a crash, you should get ahold of our West Virginia rideshare accident lawyers. We can explain your legal rights and options and ensure you understand how best to proceed to protect yourself and your future.
Insurance Requirements for Uber and Lyft Drivers in West Virginia
States set insurance requirements for drivers to ensure losses are covered in the event of an accident. In West Virginia, all drivers are required to have the following coverage:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability
- $20,000/$40,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $10,000 uninsured motorist property damage
- $20,000/$40,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury
As long as minimum liability insurance or proof of financial responsibility is met, drivers are protected. If a driver fails to have adequate coverage, they can be fined by law enforcement.
In 2020, insurance companies in West Virginia started offering commercial auto coverage for rideshare drivers. The coverage starts when the driver turns on the app, picks up a passenger, and completes a trip. Riders are automatically protected at no additional cost each time they get in the car with a rideshare driver.
In the past, rideshare drivers had to rely on personal auto insurance when offline and with the company policies when online. This could make it difficult for the passenger to recover full and fair compensation for their injuries.
How Are Rideshare Accidents Different?
While rideshare crashes are similar to other car crashes in nature, the differences and complications start the moment impact happens. For starters, any passengers are considered victims because they had no control over the situation. You won’t have to prove you didn’t do anything wrong, but you will need to establish which party caused the accident and why.
When you’re in an accident with an Uber or Lyft driver, determine who to hold accountable can be challenging. If the driver was obviously negligent, like if they ran a stop sign, merged improperly, or failed to yield to the right-of-way, then your lawyer will be able to collect evidence, like the police report, any relevant video or security footage, and eye witness statements to back up your experience.
In some instances, the rideshare company could be held accountable. Uber and Lyft have been accused of inadequate hiring practices, improper agreement disclosures, and more in the recent past. If you believe Uber or Lyft is to blame for your crash, it’s important to understand that it may be a more challenging claim to pursue. Fortunately, our attorneys are well-versed in all types of rideshare claims and are prepared to help.
Rideshare Passenger Rights in West Virginia
As an Uber or Lyft passenger, you are entitled to certain rights. These rights exist because you are putting your life in the hands of the Uber driver. If your rights are violated, you have the right to take legal action.
To start, you have the right to a safe driver. Unfortunately, not all drivers obey the rules of the road, including Uber or Lyft drivers. If a rideshare driver has poor or dangerous driving habits, they are putting their passengers at risk. Drivers need to obey the rules of the road and take the safety of their passengers and others on the road into consideration. Passengers also have the right to ride in a safe vehicle. Drivers are supposed to maintain the interior and exterior conditions of their vehicles. If a vehicle is dirty or in poor repair, the passenger could sustain injuries.
Riders also have the right to report any type of unsafe experience—whether it be an accident or another type of event. They can do so through the rideshare app, and a representative from the company should reach out to them. In the event of an accident or a potential criminal offense, passengers should also ensure they have a police report filed, so there’s an official report to refer to.
Contact the Rideshare Law Group
Accident injuries can take weeks or months to recover from. To avoid extending your recovering and struggling financially, it’s important to get in touch with our West Virginia rideshare accident lawyers. The Rideshare Law Group is well-versed in accidents and their consequences, and we know the best practices for pursuing successful claims.
The sooner you get in touch with our law firm, the better your chances will be of receiving full and fair compensation. To learn about your legal rights and options or to start pursuing a claim, contact us today.